The historical past of LSU Tigers football team

The LSU Tigers football program, generally known as the Fighting Tigers, signifies Louisiana Point out University in college football. The Tigers contend inside the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) along with the Western Division of your Southeastern Conference (SEC).

LSU ranks 16th very best in winning percentage in NCAA Division I FBS historical past and statements 4 National championships (1958, 2003, 2007, and 2019), 16 Conference championships, and 39 consensus All-Americans.

The team performs over the University's campus at Tiger Stadium in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. This system's current head coach is Brian Kelly.

The LSU Tigers football team has had 319 players drafted in to the National football League (NFL). This contains 39 players taken in the main spherical and a few In general number 1 picks: Billy Cannon during the 1960 NFL Draft and 1960 AFL Draft, Jamarcus Russell in the 2007 NFL Draft and Joe Burrow in the 2020 NFL Draft.

Conference opponentse

From 1992 to 2023, LSU performed during the West Division from the SEC and played Every opponent inside the division annually in addition to numerous teams in the East Division. The SEC will expand the Conference to 16 groups and can remove its two divisions in 2024, leading to a fresh scheduling format for the Tigers to Participate in versus the opposite associates of the Conference.[186] Just the 2024 Conference timetable was announced on June fourteen, 2023, although the Conference nonetheless considers a new structure for the long run.

Visit our site for more information about LSU Tigers Football Apparels.


LSU has four National championships title (1958, 2003, 2007, and 2019) and are actually chosen National champions in four more seasons (1908, 1936, 1962, 2011) by NCAA-designated important selectors. They can be Furthermore recorded as being the Williamson Process co-champions for 1935, an obvious mistake inside the NCAA records book. In 1958 they completed as the sole undefeated team which has a victory in excess of Clemson within the Sugar Bowl, and were being named the National champions by the two important polls (AP and Coaches). In 2003, 2007, and 2019 LSU claimed the National championship soon after winning a postseason bowl National championship game

Pro football Hall of Fame

You can find six former LSU Tigers football players are already Inducted in to Pro football Hall Of Fame as followings:

Position: HB

Steve Van Buren

Season at LSU: 1940-1943

Position: QB

Y. A. Tittle

Season at LSU: 1944-1947

Postion: FB

Jim Taylor

Season at LSU 1956-1957

Postiion: C

Kevin Mawae

Season at LSU 1989-1993

Position: S

Johnny Robinson

Season at LSU 1957-1959

Position: G

Alan Faneca

Season at LSU: 1994-1997

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *